SBF

black-girl-thinking-300x243

I’ve been single for about a year now. It’s been my choice. I decided to take time figuring things out for myself, “finding myself,” or something. I guess I thought it would be good for me in the long run to learn that I don’t need anyone but myself to feel content. The dilemma is that now I’m starting to miss the comfort that comes from knowing someone doesn’t have to care about you, but does. Is there a difference between saying I don’t want to be single anymore and saying I want to be in a relationship? I’m starting to wonder if wanting to not be single is a sign that I need to be; clearly I haven’t found the contentment in myself that I had been hoping to discover. On the other hand, seeking connection is the most natural, human thing of all, isn’t it? Not wanting to be alone – I think I’m supposed to feel that.

Leave a Reply

